#8 You Do You

Well, for most of us, this may sound weird. I do me? oh yeah, I do do me because I have no one else. Thanks for reminding. As this phrase, “You do you”, is written on my t-shirt and that too on the one I wear for night-time, it surely brings a lot of attention when I am on a video call.

But, really it isn’t at all about that.

It is about how we should do what we feel like. Staying in touch with our emotions isn’t all bad. However, there are times when the mind yells at you for feeling the wrong way or doing the ‘wrong’ thing. In those cases, it gets tough to not be pissed at ourselves, right?

I remember when I first started a blog on Blogspot 10 years ago, I wrote things like – Do what your heart says, when actually in an ideal world – it is exactly what lands us in trouble.

Studies suggest that those who follow their head in career decisions have 13% higher salaries? And, 16% regretted their career decisions they made by their heart?

Apparently, follow-your-heart isn’t the right call. However, I feel we are talking about the tangible success here. What about the scenario of you being happy? You may have extra bucks in your hand, or you may be married to a guy with a Porsche, but is it at all happiness?

Believe it or not, we all are fragmented differently and will make different decisions. The bad part is when we make a decision and ruin it with our overthinking. Or when we look back, per se. So why not we should indeed follow the – You Do You. You do what you feel you should, be it either following the head or the heart, and then let’s not look back.

Published by Lost Moon

Am not sure if I overthink, or I think the right amount to what everyone should.

One thought on “#8 You Do You

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started