#14 Dating, is it?

Just after a random conversation, a friend of mine from college asked if we should date. It shocked me, as I never thought that way, for him. He recently became a good friend, but I never expected that he might feel a certain way.

Dating- a thought that shakes me a bit. I never feel ready to say a yes. To leave my single life in a jiffy and set myself on a mode to deal with the consequences of a relationship. That’s what exactly my past has led me too.

Sometimes I think I expect myself to feel a way, which I may never. I am never going to get that rush in my mind on seeing the text of that someone, is it? The only time I think I was in love, was when I changed my passwords to his name. When talking to him at the end of the day, made my nights pretty perfect. Where I felt quite happy just by looking at his face, laughing on his jokes and sharing stories. Does that happen in adult life when you are going to turn 28? How do I expect myself to know that I want to date someone? Is the person being nice, a good enough reason to date them?

I’d definitely love to get the opinion. See, I never dated in my early 20s. I was in a relationship that lasted that long, where I was mostly unhappy. After it was over, I never knew what to look for. The rush of emotions? Maybe we get those only when we chase someone? But chase, isn’t always right.

I don’t want to push the people away who genuinely like me, in order to chase after egoistic maniacs, you see? But I want to feel the butterflies, too. Tell me then, what is it – to date someone. What is it to date someone when you feel that you can actually never be in love again?

Published by Lost Moon

Am not sure if I overthink, or I think the right amount to what everyone should.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started